20th anniversary playlist by katrín jakobsdóttir

The Prime Minister of Iceland, Katrín Jakobsdóttir, has curated a special playlist to celebrate 20 years of Iceland Airwaves.

The Prime Minister’s playlist contains some personal favourites such as Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel and Primal Scream, as well as many Iceland Airwaves alumni including Robyn, Björk and Sigrid. The list also celebrates some of Iceland’s brightest new talent including Auður Young Karin, GDRN and Milkywhale.

You can listen to the playlist here.

Regarding the festival, Ms Jakobsdóttir had this to say:

Iceland Airwaves has for many years been a significant landmark in Iceland‘s cultural landscape and is a great platform for artists, not in the least up and coming artists. I have always loved the atmosphere in Reykjavík during the festival – it‘s electric.

This years Iceland Airwaves is the biggest ever, with 240 bands from over 25 countries. In excess of 150 local bands perform, and special events including a 20th Anniversary Concert, Pool Party, 6am Yoga Rave and Conference await festival goers this year.

Iceland Airwaves 20th Anniversary playlist by Katrín Jakobsdóttir

  1. This Woman’s Work, Kate Bush
  2. High Five, Sigrid
  3. Barso Re, A.R. Rahman, Shreya Ghoshal
  4. In Your Eyes, Peter Gabriel
  5. In My View, Young Fathers
  6. Back for Good, Take That
  7. Play Dead, Björk
  8. Líð er lag, Model
  9. Some Velvet Morning, Primal Scream
  10. Space Cowboy, Jamiroquai, David Morales
  11. Stronger, Sugababes
  12. Computer Love, Kraftwerk
  13. The Greatest, Sia and Kendrick Lamarr
  14. Bring It On, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
  15. This Is Not America, David Bowie
  16. Zero, Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  17. The Words That Maketh Murder, PJ Harvey
  18. Þú Komst Við Hjartað í Mér, Hjaltalín
  19. I Need My Gil, The National
  20. Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart, Alicia Keys
  21. Nasty Boy, Traband
  22. Add This Song(12″ Edit), Gus Gus
  23. Síðasta ástin fyrir pólskiptin, Maus
  24. What Else is There?, Röyksopp
  25. Diamonds, Rihanna
  26. I’m 9 Today, múm
  27. L’erreur est humaine, Zebda
  28. Rhubarb Girl, Miklywhale
  29. Don’t You Worry Child, Swedish House Mafia
  30. Eldalagið, Todmobile
  31. Pass This On, The Knife
  32. Unfinished Sympathy, Massive Attack
  33. Honey, Robyn
  34. Er of Seint Að Fá Sér Kaffi Núna, Prins Póló
  35. Peakin’, Young Karin, Logi Pedro
  36. Hvað ef, Auður, GDRN

Hi there, come here often? 😏

Let's get to know each other better

sign up for Airwaves News

Be the first to know about fresh announcements, special deals and all things Airwaves.

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo Instagram Logo Spotify Logo YouTube Logo